December 5th, 2018

Final $5 Rap Show of 2018 a big blowout!!

The 5DRS has had an amazing year of shows featuring diverse styles and performances by rappers, DJs, producers and dancers from across Canada and the USA! You helped us make our 8th year our best yet – so let’s close out 2018 with the crew and fam that made it all possible, including you and yours!

More Or Les, Swamp Thing & Wordburglar have all released monumental rap records this year so it’s only fitting they close out the 2018 season with feature performances! Starting sharply at 10:30 PM. Come for the live performances followed by a live DJ set, drinks and all the good times you’ve come to expect at The $5 Rap Show. PLUS Peter Project aka COINS will be rocking the bells on the 1s and 2s with one of his patented DJ party sets keeping things moving all night!

Who knows…if it goes well we might even be convinced to do this for a 9th year 😉

The rap’s happening THURSDAY DEC 13th at HANDLEBAR, 159 AUGUSTA,
19+. $5 bucks.
More rap than you pay for.

Facebook Event Page:

December 4th, 2018

Clockwork Cypher v12 with Wordburglar, Touch, Attikus and Munro

Wordburglar has been working his ass off touring lately, and during his first out West he hooked up a portion of it with Touch. They’re joined by Attikus and Munro for this cypher for Clockwork. Hand’Solo is well represented with a rapper from the past, a rapper from the present, and perhaps one from the future…. Everyone kills it!

November 30th, 2018

Filthy Animals – Still Filthy out now!

Track Listing:

01. Purple Rain ft. 40
02. Fuck a Job ft. Bronze
03. Don’t Need Her
04. Filthy Gang
05. Rambler ft. Lev and Bang Em
06. Nature Boys ft. Kode
07. Hustlers ft. Daze
08. Sorry
09. Not Sorry
10. Woo Twang
11. H1N1 ft. Trip
12. Freddy on the Block

All lyrics written and performed by Big Bear & Pnutty Goldust except for features
All beats produced by Pnutty Goldust except “Rambler” produced by Tron

Mixed and mastered by G. Sawatzky at Deepcave Studios

Album Design by Fedora
Art Direction by Meowser

November 27th, 2018

Filthy Animals – Filthy Gang video & DJ Pack

01 – Filthy Gang
02 – Filthy Gang (clean)
03 – Filthy Gang (instrumental)
04 – Filthy Gang (acapella)
05 – Filthy Gang (DJ Matto remix)

Written and performed by Big Bear and Pnutty Goldust
Produced by Pnutty Goldust, expect #5 remixed by DJ Matto

Video shot and edited by Natural Aspects Promotions

November 26th, 2018

Filthy Animals

Founded in 2007, Winnipeg-based rap duo Filthy Animals consists of Big Bear and Pnutty Goldust, veterans of the Canadian hip hop scene for over 17 years and highly respected in the prairies. They received their name from legendary New York rapper Buckshot (Duckdown Records, Black Moon), who dubbed the duo the Filthy Animals while Bear and Pnutty were on tour along with other members of Deepcave Records opening for Buckshot’s hip hop super group Boot Camp Clik.

Armed with their brand new name, Filthy Animals released their debut album, Sounds of Nature, in 2010 on Deepcave Records. The album quickly earned the attention of Canadian hip-hop fans and critics alike. Backed by hard-hitting songs like “The Plot”, “Superbad” and “Bizness as Usual”, Sounds of Nature landed Filthy Animals an interview with the international publication Girls and Corpses Magazine in 2011 as well as numerous national radio and T.V. interviews.

In 2017, Filthy Animals followed up with their sophomore album, Finally (Deepcave Records), which was once again well-received by Canadian hip-hop fans and the industry alike thanks to anthems like “Killing Me”, “Filthy Fucking Animals” and “Earwax”, the latter featuring LA rap vet J-Ro of Tha Alkoholiks. More radio interviews and live shows followed.

When it comes to live shows, Bear and Pnutty are no strangers to the stage with hundreds of performances under their belt both as Filthy Animals and as solo artists. Boasting a high energy live show laced with mind-boggling flows, comedic banter, and crowd participation, Filthy Animals has built a a notoriety throughout Central and Western Canada as one of the finest homebred acts that their musically infamous frozen prairie capital has to offer. Their onstage chemistry is ever evident and their live shows are highly anticipated.

Filthy Animals have performed all over Canada, and in select U.S. cities, receiving praise from audiences wherever they venture. They have opened for all your favourite rap acts touring Canada, sharing the bill with the likes of Method Man & Redman, Sean Price, Tech N9ne, Jedi Mind Tricks, Royce Da 5’9, Masta Ace, R.A. The Rugged Man, Pharoahe Monch, Insane Clown Posse, Everlast, Atmosphere, Kool Keith, Swollen Members, Moka Only, Classified, Merkules, and so many more notable acts.

Their third album, Still Filthy (Hand’Solo Records/Deepcave Records), showcases the same booze-filled but razor-sharp technical lyrics alongside the comedic wit and storytelling their fans have come to expect of the duo, all over a mixture of boom bap and trap beats produced entirely by Pnutty Goldust, with guest appearances by a handful of the Deepcave Records collective. Still Filthy is proof the duo still has what it takes… after all it is the best Filthy Animals album so far.

November 17th, 2018

Debut of song from new Touch project

Hand’Solo Records first worked with Touch to release an album ten years ago with a free digital album, Dead Words, anchored by first single/video “When I Was Fourteen”, and we reconnected again in 2017 for Journey to the West. We’re bound to see two new albums from Touch on Hand’Solo in 2019, and the first track from his collaboration album with DJ Matto (pka DJ Usdneedls of Hidden Fortress) has been released on the new Mix(ed)Tape 2 mixtape from DJs Chase March and Hullewud. If you haven’t heard it yet, here’s a peak at Electric Sheep:

Touch makes a few other appearances over the mixtape so it’s definitely worth a download for any Touch fan, and Canadian rap fans would do well to check it out, too.

November 9th, 2018

Rap Reviews first to review Whatevski’s Cult Classics

The first review is in for Whatevski’s Cult Classics album, and once again Rap Reviews is leading the way. Thanks for the review, Flash!

Read the review and accompanying music samples here:

November 9th, 2018

Apeface cassette review from Raised by Gypsies

Raised by Gypsies gives Ape No More from Apeface aka The Dirty Sample a very good review. You can read the review below, but click the link if you want the best look at all parts of the packaging… I’ve kept the shot of the cover as a little teaser…

Read the review and view the art design here:

November 8th, 2018

More Or Les performance and interview with Tdot Underground

More Or Les stops by Tdot Underground Live to discuss the Toronto rap scene and his new album, Nerd Love, as well as a live performance of the remix of the title track.

November 2nd, 2018

Whatevski’s Cult Classics available now!

Track Listing:

01. Cult Classics Intro – Whatevski
02. Blast Off – Touch, Mindbender
03. Fantastic Planet – Project Blue Book
04. Big Deal – Whatevski
05. My Swag (More Gravy Remix) – Sargeant & Comrade *
06. Another Cult Classic – Halfcut
07. Happy Endings – Graffiti Gonzo
08. Five Bucks – Instrumental
09. You Ancient – Touch
10. Lyrical Kingpin – Cee!!!!
11. Angels & Demons – Halfcut, Hollohan, Yolanda Sargeant
12. The Place Where The Grass Dies Pt2 – Birdapres
13. Boogie Man – Boogie Man
14. Purple Plumb – Ira Lee
15. The Goal Of Life – Outro

* digital release only

All songs produced, mixed and mastered by Whatevski.